1. Welcome to SocialHangar.net! The place where everything Airlines is shared, discussed and debated. Whether you're a frequent traveler or a fan of airliners and airports you'll be able to find what you need here...so browse around, take a look and register if you like what you see. Registration is simple...just click on the 'Sign Up Now' link to the right of this message to get your FREE account (you can also choose to register using Facebook). Once you register this message will disappear. Hope you'll join us!

Is the FAA paying to fix the Brazilian ATC system?

Discussion in 'FAA News, Opinion and Articles' started by Richard Wyeroski, Mar 5, 2014.

1. Richard Wyeroski

Richard Wyeroski Hangar Gold Member I

United States United States
    A lot of you Airnation folks know me. I was a former Inspector with the FAA and I have done a bit of investigating in my time. Well the Summer Olympics is coming to Brazil. Their Air Traffic Control System is not to reliable and in the past has caused to many accidents?

One of these accidents is published here in Airnation. The GOL flt 1907 disaster. So, Brazil is fixing their ATC system and it seems the FAA is helping to pay for it.

Brazil Upgrades Air Traffic Technology For World Cup And Olympics

Systems To Be Expanded To 23 Airports Around The Country

In the run up to the FIFA World Cup this year, and the Olympics in 2016, air traffic management company SITA is working with the Comissão de Implantação do Sistema de Controle do Espaço Aéreo (CISCEA) in its drive to upgrade Brazil’s air traffic management technology. CISCEA is the body responsible for developing and implementing new technologies for DECEA, the Brazilian Air Navigation Service Provider.
    [​IMG]